Three Rules You Thought You Knew - v3e20

Newsletter Archive

Rule 204 Playing Lineup

During a stoppage of play, both teams change players. Immediately after the start of the play, one of the On-Ice Officials notices that one of the teams has too many players on the ice and stops play. Should the Referee assess a bench minor penalty?

No. Rule Reference 204(a).

It is the responsibility of the On-Ice Officials to see that each team has the correct number of players on the ice before the puck is dropped. In this case, play must be stopped the moment the Officials become aware of the fact that there are too many players on the ice.

Rule 637 Throwing Stick/Object

With an attacking player in the Attacking Zone on a breakaway, a stick is thrown from the opposing team’s players’ bench and as a result the Referee assesses a penalty shot. Should the Referee also assess a bench minor penalty for throwing the stick?

No. Rule Reference 637(b).

Only one penalty should be assessed for this single infraction. In this instance, the penalty shot/optional minor is assessed in lieu of the bench minor penalty.

Rule 630 Off-Sides

May a goal ever be allowed during the course of a delayed offside?

No. Rule Reference 630(d.3).

The attacking team caused the puck to enter the end attacking zone illegally, therefore no goal may be scored from a direct shot on goal. Even if the defending team shoots, passes or deflects the puck into its own goal, a goal may not be allowed. This is also true in cases where the attacking team has nullified the delayed off-sides by clearing the zone prior to the puck entering the goal. The Official responsible for the call at the blue line should stop play immediately for the off-sides once it is determined the puck is shot on goal.

Your turn

Have a question that you'd like to see answered here? Knowledge that you'd like to share? Just hit reply, we'd love to hear from you.


Have you as an official been placed in a situation that you feel was not resolved to your satisfaction? We can help you. We are here to support you. Abuse by a player or coach is never acceptable, we have your back. Click reply, and we'll do what we can to help.



You are receiving this email because you are a registered
USA Hockey Official in Massachusetts


Sent via