Three Rules You Thought You Knew v3e11

Newsletter Archive

630 - Offsides

May a goal ever be allowed during the course of a delayed offside?

No. Rule Reference 630(d.3).

The attacking team caused the puck to enter the end attacking zone illegally, therefore no goal may be scored
from a direct shot on goal. Even if the defending team shoots, passes or deflects the puck into its own goal, a goal may not be allowed. This is also true in cases where the attacking team has nullified the delayed off-sides by clearing the zone prior to the puck entering the goal. The Official responsible for the call at the blue line should stop play immediately for the off-sides once it is determined the puck is shot on goal.

623 - Hooking

An attacking player is skating toward his opponent’s goal, preparing to release a shot on goal. Just as he releases the shot he is hooked from behind and falls to the ice. The Referee does not signal a penalty infraction and, at the next stoppage, explains that the player got a good shot off, thus no penalty was assessed. Was the Referee correct in this interpretation?

No. Rule Reference 623(a).

Provided the player was impeded as a result of the hooking action, a penalty must be assessed. Even though a shot was attempted, that shot may not have had the same effectiveness that it would have if the hooking did not occur, so a competitive advantage was gained as a result of the hook.

201 - Composition of Teams

A team arrives with only five players, but is willing to play the entire game short-handed. Should the game be played?

No. Rule Reference 201(a).

A team is defined as having six players. If a team cannot put six players on the ice at the start of the game, it is not considered a “team” and must forfeit the game to its opponent.

Your turn

Have a question that you'd like to see answered here? Knowledge that you'd like to share? Just hit reply, we'd love to hear from you.


Have you as an official been placed in a situation that you feel was not resolved to your satisfaction? We can help you. We are here to support you. Abuse by a player or coach is never acceptable, we have your back. Click reply, and we'll do what we can to help.


If you would like to promote your business to other officials,
click reply to this email with the details.

You are receiving this email because you are a registered
USA Hockey Official in Massachusetts


Sent via